State Labor Laws to Safeguard the Rights of Office Employees

West Virginia is one of the famous states that is situated in the Mid-Atlantic and Appalachian region in the United States. This beautiful state is enclosed by Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Maryland. This state has a favorable working condition.

Following are some of the state labor laws that are applicable in West Virginia.

1. Labor law poster
The employment laws of the West Virginia states that each and every owner has to post a compulsory West Virginia labor poster in their organization. It id done to let the workers know their rights. They must circulate precise posters which should have entire information about the minimum wages, unemployment insurance, health and safety protection and notices of worker right.

2. Laws Related To Hiring
Federal Law states that an employer may not hire his employees in accordance to the color, age, creed, arrest record, nationality, sex, race, disability, ancestry etc. Each and everyone should be treated as equal. There should not be any partial treatment.

3. Laws Related To Employment At Will
According to this law at-will employee can be terminated due to any cause. But for the termination it is necessary that the reason should be legal. The law is in accordance to the contract so one has to follow the contract. In case one abides the law then that person will have to face the law.

4. Laws Related Work Place Injury
According to this law, the owner is completely responsible for any type of injury on the work place. In case of death of the worker his dependents will be given compensation.

5. Laws Related To Work Place Safety
The Federal and State law states that it is the responsibility of the owner to provide a decent working condition to his employees. There should be no compromise with the regulations, occupational health and safety, rules and standards. In case the employer does not provide a good working condition then he should be answerable towards the questions of the employees.

6. Laws Related to Harassment
If the employer is found to be a guilty of harassment of any kind then he will have to face the legal proceedings. This law ensures the safety of women in company.

7. Laws Related To Minimum Wages
According to this law the employer shall not pay less than $7.25 per hour to his employees. But in case of special conditions of training of 90 days, the employer can pay at the rate of $5.15 per hour to his employee.

Above are some of the State Labor Laws that are followed in West Virginia. Hope that this article would have helped you to get information about these laws.